top of page


Circus Maximus (Expanded Edition)


Formats Available: LP, CD & Digital

01. Lucky Like St. Sebastian

02. The Lesson Of Sodom (According To Lot)

03. John The Baptist Jones

04. King Solomon's Song And Mine

05. Little Lord Obedience

06. The Day The Circus Came To Town

07. The Rape Of Lucretia

08. Paper Wraps Rock

09. Rules Of The Game Of Quoits

10. Ballad Of The Barrel Organist

11. Third Party, Fire And Theft

12. Hotel Marquis De Sade

13. Murderers, The Hope Of Women

14. What Will Death Be Like?

15. Eleven Executioners

16. "Nicky"

17. Don't Leave

18. See A Friend In Tears


Vinyl limited to 500 copies.

Mixing a lively folk troubadour style with a sunny voice that would befit that of Donovan, along with a sly, subversive humor that surely influenced the likes of Belle & Sebastian’s Stuart Murdoch, “Circus Maximus” opens boldly and doesn’t let up. The playfully unconventional collection of songs delivers punchy doses of folk balladry and Judeo-Christian imagery that would rival the religious themes and prolific tendencies of Current 93’s David Tibet in theme, if not tone. And Currie’s beautifully assured guitar work calls to mind the intricate and intimate folk players who preceded him, such as Bert Jansch and Nick Drake.


This expanded 2xLP gatefold edition of Momus’ long out-of-print debut LP also includes a selection of three EPs from the same period: “The Beast With Three Backs” EP, the “Murderers, The Hope of Women” EP, as well as the “Jacky” EP, in which Momus proudly wore the influence of Jacques Brel on his sleeve. Cumulatively, second hand copies of these releases sell for over $100, but are collected here for the first time ever, at a fraction of that cost.


Available again in this expanded edition on vinyl for the first time since 1986 and on CD for the first time since 1991, “Circus Maximus” sounds as fresh and intelligent today as it did in its debut.

bottom of page