top of page

The Modulators

Tomorrow's Coming


Formats Available: LP, CD & Digital

01. Tomorrow's Coming

02. Jimmy Says

03. Spin Me Around

04. Lies

05. My Back Pages

06. Rainy Day Girl

07. If You Let Her Go

08. Own Little World

09. Lost Without A Sound

10. Girl Trouble

11. Amplitude Modulation

12. Kristine

13. Down At The Dirt

14. She's So Cynical

15. Dream Girls

16. Hearts Breakin' (Demo)

17. Someday (Demo)

18. New Kind Of Line (Demo)

19. Like Falling In Love (Demo)

20. Take A Chance (Demo)

21. It's Your Fire (Demo)

22. Summer Girls (Demo)

23. Girl Trouble (Demo)

24. No Sale (Demo)

25. Be My Baby (Demo)

26. She's So Cynical (Demo)

27. Kristine (Sunnyside Studio Demo)

28. Amplitude Modulation (Guitar Demo)

Formed in 1980, New Jersey’s the Modulators are one of the unsung greats of the American power pop scene. Initially the solo project of multi-instrumentalist Joe Riccardello with help from producer/ lyricist (and Vintage Vinyl Records owner) Rob Roth, Ricardello released his first single Girl Trouble in 1980 just before bringing on friends Mark Higgins (guitar) and Mark “Cakes” Westlake (drums) to join the band. As a fully-formed trio, the Modulators began playing out across New Jersey in the early 80’s and recorded tracks for two local compilations and the band’s second, enduring single She’s So Cynical in 1982. Live gigs and songwriting continued, with the band often writing and recording more material than their release schedule could keep up with. Finally in 1984, the band released their first and only LP, Tomorrow’s Coming on Roth’s Vintage Vinyl Records. Full of timeless gems and quintessential 80’s power pop anthems, the record is now regarded as a genre classic by power pop collectors. Tracks like “Spin Me Around,” “If You Let Her Go,” and “Lost Without a Sound” display the Modulators’ smart songwriting, catchy hooks, and effortless pop sensibility. Though the band continued to play the Tri-State area until 1986 (and every now and then since), Tomorrow’s Coming was the Modulator’s last vinyl release. Bringing together the band’s entire discography with an additional 14 unreleased songs and demo tracks and liner notes from power pop collector Steve Borchardt, Manufactured Recordings is proud to present the definitive release of this power pop classic.

Note: Tracks 16 - 28 are included with the LP as a digital download

bottom of page